Principles of Celestial Navigation


COMET Sponsors

The COMET® Program is sponsored by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS), with additional funding by:

  • Bureau of Meteorology of Australia (BoM)
  • Bureau of Reclamation, United States Department of the Interior
  • European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT)
  • Meteorological Service of Canada (MSC)
  • NOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service (NESDIS)
  • NOAA's National Geodetic Survey (NGS)
  • Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Command (NMOC)
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)

Project Contributors

Project/Program Manager/Coordinator
  • Dr. Alan Bol — UCAR/COMET
  • Dr. Elizabeth Mulvihill Page — UCAR/COMET
Project Lead/Instructional Design
  • Amy Stevermer — UCAR/COMET
Principal Science Advisor/Script Author
  • Sean Urban — U.S. Naval Observatory
Additional Science/Script Contributors
  • Capt. Brian Connon — U.S. Naval Observatory
  • QMC (SW/AW) Tim Sheedy — U.S. Naval Observatory
  • Dr. Susan Stewart — U.S. Naval Observatory
  • Dr. George Kaplan — U.S. Naval Observatory
  • Dr. Nancy Oliversen — U.S. Naval Observatory
  • Catherine Hohenkerk — HM Nautical Almanac Office
  • Dr. Susan Nelmes — HM Nautical Almanac Office
  • Steve Deyo — UCAR/COMET
Multimedia Authoring/Interface Design
  • Gary Pacheco — UCAR/COMET
Audio/Video Editing/Production
  • Steve Deyo — UCAR/COMET
  • Dolores Kiessling — UCAR/COMET
  • David Russi — UCAR/COMET
USNO Videography/Editing
  • Jeff Cook — Cook Studios
Assessment Development
  • Sarah Ross-Lazarov — UCAR/COMET
Audio Narration
  • Hildy Kane — UCAR/COMET
Technical/Miscellaneous Assistance
  • Dr. Richard Koehler — NOAA/NWS
  • Sylvia Quesada — UCAR/COMET

COMET Staff, Winter 2014/2015

Director's Office
  • Dr. Rich Jeffries, Director
  • Dr. Greg Byrd, Deputy Director
  • Lili Francklyn, Business Development Specialist
Business Administration
  • Dr. Elizabeth Mulvihill Page, Group Manager
  • Lorrie Alberta, Administrator
  • Hildy Kane, Administrative Assistant
IT Services
  • Tim Alberta, Group Manager
  • Bob Bubon, Systems Administrator
  • Dolores Kiessling, Software Engineer
  • Joey Rener, Student Assistant
  • Malte Winkler, Software Engineer
Instructional and Media Services
  • Bruce Muller, Group Manager
  • Dr. Alan Bol, Scientist/Instructional Designer
  • Steve Deyo, Graphic and 3D Designer
  • Lon Goldstein, Instructional Designer
  • Bryan Guarente, Instructional Designer
  • Dr. Vickie Johnson, Instructional Designer (Casual)
  • Gary Pacheco, Web Designer and Developer
  • Sarah Ross-Lazarov, Instructional Designer (Casual)
  • Tsvetomir Ross-Lazarov, Instructional Designer
  • David Russi, Spanish Translations
  • Andrea Smith, Meteorologist/Instructional Designer
  • Marianne Weingroff, Instructional Designer
Science Group
  • Wendy Schreiber-Abshire, Group Manager
  • Dr. William Bua, Meteorologist
  • Dr. Frank Bub, Oceanographer (Casual)
  • Lis Cohen, Meteorologist (Casual)
  • Patrick Dills, Meteorologist
  • Matthew Kelsch, Hydrometeorologist
  • Nicolas Major, Visiting Meteorologist, Meteorological Services of Canada
  • Dr. Elizabeth Mulvihill Page, Meteorologist
  • Amy Stevermer, Meteorologist
  • Vanessa Vincente, Visiting Meteorologist, CIRA/Colorado State University